Shopping Cart
no products

About us

In February 2001, Airmodel moved its headquarters from Albstadt / Ebingen in Baden-Württemberg to central Germany near Frankfurt, and thus also changed its owner. For a long time Mr. Frank from Frankmodelbau led the company before I luckily had been able to take it over. Mr. Frank enjoys his well-deserved retirement.

Since the 70'th Airmodel was one of the first model manufacturers for small series in Germany. Airmodel became known for his handmade, vacuum-formed plastic models in scale 1/35 , 1 /32, 1/48 and 1 / 72.

In the 80'th Airmodel was one of the first producer of Resin-kits (originaly “epoxy kits”). The techniques and materials had been developed continuously during the 90´th of the twentieth century. Since 2006 "Perfect Scale Betzler" provides us with excellent Resin-molded kits and resins. 2011 Airmodel launched its successful Resin and Photo-Etched conversion kits and airfield accessories in scale 1/72 and 1/48.

Since 01.February 2001 Matthias Simon is Airmodels new owner.

"I was born in Seligenstadt / Germany in 1967, where I attended elementary and high school and studied engineering in Darmstadt after I got my high-school diploma."

"I started model making when I was 9 years old after I was given a MATCHBOX NA B-25 Mitchel, [PK405]. Some of you may remember the 2-3 colored kits of this famous company long ago."

This was the starting point of a passion we probably share all. The first few years everything had been built what was on the bench, until I discovered my obsession for the Aircraft modeling in scale 1/72. When I owned the company in early 2001, my interest expanded again to different scales and other types of models .

"I am responsible for all the work of the company. I take care of research, planning and design, prototyping, or drawings, box-art and box-layout, production, website, customer communication, advertising and marketing, sales , packaging and shipping and of course all the necessary office work."

The satisfaction of my customers is very important to me and I always try to help solving any possible problem that might occure.

" KING -class MODELING " challanging modelkits for advanced modellers.

Yours sincerly Matthias Simon

Ihr Warenkorb
keine Produkte

Über uns

Im Februar 2001 wechselte die Firma Airmodel ihren Firmensitz von Albstadt/Ebingen in Baden-Württemberg nach Zentraldeutschland bei Frankfurt und somit wechselte auch Ihr Besitzer. Lange Zeit führte Herr Frank von Frankmodellbau die Firma, bevor ich diese übernehmen durfte. Herr Frank genießt den wohlverdienten Ruhestand.

Airmodel war seit den 70´iger Jahren eine der ersten Modellbaufirmen für Kleinserien in Deutschland. Bekannt geworden ist Airmodel durch seine handgefertigten, vakuumgeformten Plastikmodelle im Maßstab 1/35, 1/32, 1/48 und 1/72. In den 80´iger Jahren war Airmodel einer der ersten Anbieter von Resinmodellen (damals noch Epoxi-Bausätze). Die Techniken und Materialien entwickelten sich kontinuierlich in den 90´igern Jahren weiter. Ab 2006 sorgt „Perfect-Scale Betzler“ für ausgezeichnete Resingüsse und Harze. 2011 fiel der Startschuss für die erfolgreiche Resin- und Ätzteilserie für Umbausätze und Flugfeldzubehör im Maßstab 1/72 und 1/48.

Seit dem 01.Februar 2001 ist Matthias Simon Airmodels neuer Geschäftsleiter.

Ich wurde 1967 in Seligenstadt/Deutschland geboren, besuchte dort die Grundschule und Gymnasium und habe nach dem Abitur Maschinenbau in Darmstadt studiert.

„Mit dem Modellbau habe ich mit 9 Jahren begonnen, als ich eine MATCHBOX NA B-25 Mitchel, [PK405] geschenkt bekam. Wenige werden Sich vielleicht an die 2-3 farbig gespritzten Bausätze erinnern.“

Dies war der Startschuss zu einer Leidenschaft, die wir wohl alle teilen, die Modellbau betreiben. Die ersten Jahre wurde alles gebaut. was auf dem Basteltisch lag, bis ich meine Obsession für den Flugzeugmodellbau im Maßstab 1/72 entdeckte. Als ich die Firma Anfang 2001 erwarb, erweiterte sich mein Interesse wieder auf andere Maßstäbe und Modellbausparten.

Ich bin zuständig für alle anfallenden Arbeiten der Firma. Ich kümmere mich um Recherche, Planung und Konstruktion, Urmodellbau, oder Zeichnungen, Box-Art und Kartonlayout, Produktion, Internetauftritt, Kundenkommunikation, Werbung und Marketing, Verkauf, Verpackung und Versand und natürlich auch alle anfallenden Büroarbeiten.

Eure Zufriedenheit ist mir besonders wichtig und ich bemühe mich gerne bei eventuellen Problemen zu helfen.

„KING-CLASS-MODELING“ anspruchsvolle Modelle für fortgeschrittene Modellbauer.

Euer Matthias Simon